A new privacy feature being developed by WhatsApp would prevent users from screenshotting images and videos.
According to reports, WhatsApp is developing a new privacy feature that would increase the security of media items like images and videos shared using the “View Once” setting. Users of WhatsApp won’t be able to screenshot the View Once media assets. Although users can only access the View Once media files once, they can still be screenshotted. However, once the new functionality is implemented, users won’t be able to take screenshots of the same. The media file you’ve shared with others will be safer and more secure as a result.
According to a report in WABetainfo, the feature was made available for Android beta and iOS beta users exclusively in WhatsApp update version 220.127.116.11.
Users of WhatsApp will have more control over how their information is received, shared, and retained by third parties. According to the report a warning message that reads “Can’t capture screenshots due to security policy” will appear on the screen if someone tries to take a screenshot of “View Once” material. Furthermore, the screen will be blank or black even if someone manages to record it or take a snapshot of it.
The app has previously advised users to only email trusted people photographs and videos with the “View Once” option activated so they may get a screenshot or screen recording of the content before it disappears. But with the recent upgrade, nobody would be able to screenshot or screen record the material.
In the meanwhile, the app has unveiled a new privacy feature that enables users to control who may see their online status and prevent others from accessing it. According to WhatsApp development tracker Wabetainfo, the new conceal online status option is presently accessible to Android beta users.